Tags

, , , , , ,

After I wrote my last post I tried to do more research so I could be more helpful on the topic. I read some real nice stuff but only after a lot of reading and reading more.

For my surprise, I found many advices in the same way I was writing in the last topic, that you’d have more chances being more you that a robot or copying the so-called “correct stuff”.

One text that got my attention was written by the admission staff from Stanford University’s MBA. A few years ago, I went to visit the university and get more references about the MBA courses, the curricula and the students profile and I found it superb! Stanford has an “Aura” of being a selected place but not only for high-privileged people but also for some of the most inspiring young people in the world, people from different countries and a true aspiration of changing the world, as the school says. When you apply to a MBA at Stanford, you are required to describe yourself in many ways, including some Essays you must write about your past experience and – GUESS WHAT – what they want to hear about you is not only about accomplishments or being just great. Get this one:

“They do not focus merely on what you’ve done or accomplished. Instead, they share with us the values, experiences, and lessons that have shaped your perspectives.” – Isn’t it just AWESOME? Wouldn’t it be much cooler if people everywhere REALLY cared about who you CAN BE instead of who you WERE?

The other phrase in the Stanford website that was just a perfect fit was that the best Essays were “(…) written from the heart and address not only a person, situation, or event, but also how that person, situation, or event has influenced your life.” – That is it, this is how it should be and HOPEFULLY when I come again in a hiring position in an interview I will remember such remarkable words.

Only because of these two phrases I wanted to come back in the topic of Cover Letters, efficient approach to a job interview and how people DO make mistake when applying to a job. I hope this may be insightful for some of you.

Keep with the positive feelings about my job approach, please!

XOXO

